Pardon the Desperation

When a buddy talked me into signing up for a half-marathon a few months ago, my wife’s initial response was, “But you told me you didn’t want to race a half-marathon.” All I could say was, “You’re right; that’s exactly what I said.”

But I signed up anyway. And it looked like I was going to have a good experience with it.

Then, three weeks ago, I got injured. My calf started to freak out after a run. At first, it wasn’t such a big deal, but it was most definitely noticeable. So I eased off. I tried to ease back into some cautious jogs, but then I re-injured that same calf. So I stopped running altogether.

The race, as you can tell from the little counter thing on the side of my blog, is this weekend. And I am still not healed from my injury.

Then, today, the inevitable happened. The buddy who talked me into doing the race backed out on me. And I can’t even really fault him, because I know he’s really busy.

But that’s where I’m at: I no longer have a place to stay the night before the race. I no longer have someone to run the race with. I no longer have any motivation to do the race.

So now, I’m trying to sell that stinking bib number. But I can’t seem to get anyone to buy the darn thing. I’m not sure what the hang-up is. Perhaps it’s the fact that I can’t meet anyone to have them pay me in cash in person. Perhaps it’s that I can’t attend the transfer meeting in person. I don’t know. Whatever it is, getting rid of this thing is a pain in the rumpus.

If you happen to be looking for a Race to Robie Creek bib, drop me a line or leave a comment or something, would you?

UPDATE: SOLD IT!

3 thoughts on “Pardon the Desperation

  1. Pingback: Transitions | Adjusting My Altitude

Leave a Reply

