Skunked!

No, this photo has nothing to do with today's post.

So I’m discovering that the more I write on this blog, the less it gets read. Ah, but what the heck, if I wanted an audience, I’d do stand-up comedy.

I have to tell you: I feel completely smashed today. I felt a little fatigued when I got up this morning, but I didn’t think much of it at first. I started watching for the signs that I’d overdone it. I don’t know much about you, but when I’m smashed, it always hits me in late afternoon. I’m tired, I crave chocolate, and, the most telltale sign, I get really oversensitive to what others do. That happened today. I got miffed with a coworker. It was probably unnecessary, but it still came out.

I guess I should’ve seen it coming though. I haven’t gotten a decent night’s sleep in a few weeks, I’ve been single-parenting for a few days, I’m completely overwhelmed at work, I rode my bike on Wednesday and then I did uphill big gear intervals on the road bike last night. So I was practically asking for it.

I’ve heard someone say that only 10 percent of athletes even have the ability to overtrain. I think that’s a reference to addisonian-style overtraining, which typically hits the ultra-distance guys. Me, I think I run into basedowian overtraining more. As I understand it, that’s the one that brings the typical overtraining signs—sleep disturbances, moodiness, etc. Yuck. It’s no fun.

I think more than 10 percent of athletes are susceptible to it (unless I’m really an outlier). On the other hand, I think since I dropped some weight in the fall (which seems to be a regular pattern for me after we add children to our household), I’ve been more vulnerable. I know for certain that I’ve dealt with more upper-respiratory-tract infections (colds) this year, and I don’t seem to be recovering as quickly either.

But then again, what do I know? I’m no exercise physiologist and this is no peer-reviewed kinesiology journal. Sorry, but if that’s what you’re looking for, you’ve come to the wrong place.

Nope, this is just the blog of some guy who could use a little more R&R. Speaking of which, maybe I’ll go to bed early tonight …

Leave a Reply

