Impersonation, cont’d …

As I came around the block toward my house after my run yesterday, I felt a familiar pain on outside of my left knee. When I was getting ready for my first pool-swim triathlon (the only kind of triathlon I’ve ever done), I had that same pain, but it was in my right knee then. It’s called iliotibial band syndrome, or ITBS, and it can get pretty uncomfortable. I did the entire run of my first little triathlon (a 5k) with my iliotibial band stinging away.

I think the reason I get it is likely because of the curved shoulders of the roads I’m forced to run on. I tend to have one leg stepping lower than the other, which is a recipe for ITBS. Oddly enough, the first time I had it was in my right knee. Now I have it in my left.

So what do I do from here? I don’t really know. I’ll probably stretch it out, run on grass, do some hip-strengthening exercises, and hope for the best.

To add to that, however, I have just a few more rules for myself:

• Never run dehydrated—it’s a recipe for injury. Make sure you’re peeing white before you go out.

• Never kick yourself when you’re down. It’s okay to do two runs back to back if they’re both EASY runs, but it’s not okay to do a hard-easy. It’s compulsive, and it’s another ingredient on that recipe for injury.

One thought on “Impersonation, cont’d …

  1. Boz

    I feel for ya\’, brother. My IT band affects my left knee off and on. Stretching it after a work out seems more effective than before. It\’s seem to be one of those nagging injuries that never seems to go away. It makes it hard to put on my left sock at times. That\’s my reminder to stay after it.

Leave a Reply

