I’m an old man …

I was all excited to get started on some mean trainer workouts this week. Saturday morning, we woke up to snow, which continued through Sunday evening. I shoveled the walk on Sunday and went to bed hyped about getting up at 6 a.m. to go crank it out on the trainer. When the alarm went off, I had no hesitation; I was in the basement working up a sweat before I was conscious.

But then, Monday evening as I was driving home from work, my riding plans took a comfortable back seat. I got out of my car, walked inside, and nearly collapsed from an excruciating pain in my lower back. Ten minutes later, of course, my wife walked out the door for a girls’ night out of sorts, leaving me and my back to tend to the girls. The next morning when my alarm went off at 6, I promptly turned it off and changed it to 7. My back still hurt—especially first thing in the morning.

As far as I can tell, the source of my discomfort is none other than good ol’ snowshoveling. What the heck?! I’ve been shoveling snow since I was a young Canadian. It should come naturally to me by now. Nope. I’m pretty sure I overdid it. Perhaps my mistake was getting out the metal shovel and scraping the packed snow off the concrete.

Whatever it was, the snow hasn’t quit in the past few days. I just have more to shovel now. Yet, I can’t bring myself to do it. I’m still working up the gumption. And, yes, I know that when I finally do shovel the driveway (probably after my car gets stuck in a snowbank before it gets to the asphalt), I’m going to be hurting again. Ugh. Then I’ll have to buy a cane and start listening to "Prairie Home Companion" on NPR. Oh, and I’ll probably give up XC mountain biking for downhill as that will be all the stress my heart can take.

I have some more interesting bike-related news, but that’ll have to wait for another time.

2 thoughts on “I’m an old man …

  1. Boz

    When shoveling, I always alternate shoveling sides to even out the twisting stress. Also, if you have a Sears store near by, they have Nordic Track exercise balls on sale for under $7.00. Nothing like it to keep your back strong and limber. I\’ve used one for years and never have back pain. And I\’m old….

Leave a Reply

