Don’t ever own a Chevy Malibu!

Pardon the non-bike-related post today, but I have to warn anyone I can about this before they make the same mistake.

I remember working on a Malibu engine when I was in mechanics class in high school. Of course, that was a 1980 Malibu. Just a couple of years ago, my wife and I purchased a 2002 Malibu with 42,000 miles on it from a reliable source. That car now has 70,500 miles on it, and it’s lame.

As it turns out, that particular engine has some serious issues with leaking coolant straight into the engine via the intake manifold. Eventually, when the car heats up, you’ll blow a head gasket. To replace it, the mechanic has to tear the entire engine apart and build it back up again. Oh, and then there are the warped valves, heads and whatever else got overheated in the process.

After being ticked about this for a few days, I called the mechanic. After he informed me that the car would need another day in the shop, I asked him, "So, is there anything else I could’ve done to avoid this?"

His answer: "Nope."

That, of course was after I found this website. Yup, 80 more complaints about the same problem. Oh, and guess how many results you get for it on a google search. Correct, you get 40,000. Chevy can’t have sold more than 40,000 of these things.

While we’d like to chew out our mechanics for being so expensive, we’re realizing who the real scam artists are here: Chevrolet.

Leave a Reply

