What a weekend

My Saturday morning was again occupied with a mountain bike excursion to Kelly Canyon. We took some different routes than we were used to, which made things a little more interesting. After about two hours in the saddle, I turned to my bro-in-law and said, "To be honest, I don’t have a clue where we are right now."

The trees around us were tall enough that we couldn’t see anything in the way of landmarks. My bro-in-law said he figured we were probably headed in the right direction, so we just kept going.

"Heck," I joked, "you’ve probably seen enough Man Vs. Wild episodes to keep us alive right?"

Eventually we found what looked like a main road (it had gravel), so we started following it. When some people on ATVs drove past, I flagged them down and asked for directions.

"This is the way to the ski hill right?" I asked.

"The ski hill? No, man, you’re a few miles from Rexburg."

That meant we were at least five miles off course and headed in precisely the wrong direction.

"Oh, I s’pose we’ll turn around then."

It would probably be less embarrassing if I just kept the story to myself, but what’s a blog for anyway? Besides, I figure you have to get lost on a bike once in a while or you’re just not doing it right.

It ended up only being a two-and-a-half hour ride, so that wasn’t too bad. Still, we were a touch nervous there for a minute.

I wish I could tell you the rest of my weekend went well, but that just wouldn’t be true. Sunday, I had this enormous gut ache that left me napping on the couch for most of the afternoon. Monday night I woke up scratching and itching all over my body. I went into the restroom, took off my shirt and turned on the light to see large patches of puffy red skin underneath. My initial thought was that I’d had a bug biting me in bed, so I took a shower (at 3 a.m.) and then woke up my wife to ask her if she’d been itching too. When she said ‘no,’ I became a little concerned.

"Look at this, honey." She came into the restroom with me and saw my red skin.

"Those aren’t bug bites," she told me. "That’s some kind of rash or something."

I had hives—the worst I’d ever had them.

Monday, when I got up for work, the itching was still there and the stomach pain was back. I felt like curling over into a little ball and puking, but I went to work nonetheless. I lasted until about noon.

By now, I’d more or less figured it out, but a visit to the doctor gave me the opportunity to get a prescription medication to help with the issue. Sure enough, the doctor agreed: "You’ve had an allergic reaction to something you ate." We tried to brainstorm a list of foods I’d eaten just before I broke out, but we couldn’t seem to figure it out. And I still don’t really know.

One way or another, it’s made for an interesting start to the week.

4 thoughts on “What a weekend

  1. Tim D

     Caloi, we\’ve all done the getting lost thing.  My friend Simon is an excelent map reader.  Drop him in the wild with a map of the area and withing minutes he will know where he is and where he needs to go.  Army training I think.  But put him at a road junction, even one with signs, and he will always go the wrong way.  My friend Joe has a place in France, near a big forest.  Last summer, he was fitting a child seat to his bike for his daughter.  When he\’d got it sorted they went out for a quick spin while his wife cooked breakfast.  Three hours later they got home, muddy and scratched, after criss crossing the forest completely lost.
     
    Hope you feel better soon
     
    Tim

  2. Boz

    My wife thinks I have a 6th sense about finding places when we are out of town. Usually, just a quick glance at the map is all it takes me to find someplace. I actually think it\’s more dumb luck. Also, just maybe my sense of adventure makes it seem like I know where I\’m going. I like new and different. 

  3. Tim D

    Just got back from two days in Wiesbaden.  I was on my own last night, so I went for a wander round town, before heading back to the hotel.  After half an hours walking, I hadn\’t come to my hotel.  In the end I turned around and retraced my way back in to town, where I found a street map.  It seems I was going in completely the wrong direction!
     
    Tim 

Leave a Reply

