I Hate Being a Late-Season Bloomer

I attempted a flat 10-mile time trial the other day. Now, you may recall that I did one of those back in June or so and managed to come in somewhere in the second third of the entrants. Honestly, I was pretty excited about my spot where it was at the time.

But now things have changed. I added a set of aero bars to the bike. I picked a course that, although it has no turn around, it also has no tailwind section. But those are the only major differences–and I figure they balance each other out.

So what was the result: I’m about a minute and a half faster now. Why couldn’t that have been the case four months ago? I dunno, motivational issues perhaps(?). Either that, or mebbe those aeros make a bigger difference than I think.

P.S. I think I figured out how I can publish blogs from work. I’ll tell you more about that later.

4 thoughts on “I Hate Being a Late-Season Bloomer

  1. Jill

    Caloi,
     
    Thanks for all the latest on the Post Register gossip. So is Margaret the managing editor now? What happened to Dean? I looked at the staff list, and it amazes me how many people who worked there two years ago have stayed. I should have stayed too. What with their stock option retirement plan and all of their recent aquisitions, I bet the lifers are rolling in dough.

  2. Zed

    I should clarify: I think Dean\’s still the EinC at the Post, but Margaret\’s running their other newspapers–the Jefferson one and whatever the other new acquisition was … I don\’t recall. I\’ll bet you\’d find the details in the PR article archive somewhere. I know Kortney moved on to a paper in Boise. PZuckerman moved on to California (possibly to marry his significant other–although I don\’t think that\’s legal in Calif yet), Rob\’s still doing whatever Rob does (I think they\’ve actually expanded his section a little). They did a redesign a few months ago, and the paper\’s a little prettier now.
    I wish I had more info for you, but they all stopped talking to me when I took my current job–I\’m with the enemy now, you know.

Leave a Reply

