Disclaimer

My wife and I were chatting on the way home from Teton Pass the other day, and we decided that I’m really not an ‘extreme’ cyclist. So I hope I haven’t given you the impression from my blog that I am. I don’t know that I quite qualify as a rec rider either, but I definitely don’t devote enough time to it to qualify for the ‘extreme’ category.

This weekend, rather than take the doubles category, I think I can write for both Botched and myself when I type WE’RE JUST PLANNING ON HAVING FUN. I’m definitely in no shape to be holding race pace for a full six hours–though the prerace e-mail does say they’ll be handing out free Red Bull–so I’m half-expecting to blow my legs to pieces on lap number three. On the other hand, if I make it, what the heck, there’ll be some serious celebrating Saturday night.

Let’s save some money together …

My biggest concern before this race is that my velcro bike shoes are getting less velcro-ey all the time, and it isn’t just because of the occasional fluff that gets in there. In discussions with Jason, he expressed his opinion to me that velcro-only bike shoes are probably just designed to be discarded after one season, which is probably true. Despite knowing that, I, in my constant desire to dodge paying the big bucks, have been checking out alternatives.

Thought I wasn’t able to find a shoe shop in town (what kind of town is this, really?), I came up with what I think are two decent alternatives.

1. Paperclips No, seriously. All you really need to do is force the contact points of the velcro together, and the friction alone will take care of the rest. So of course paperclips were my first novel idea.

2. Electrical Tape Did you know electrical tape costs a mere 84 cents a roll? I didn’t know that either, until today. In case your quantitative reasoning skills are dull, I just want to point out that that’s a heck of a lot cheaper than buying another pair of $75-$150 shoes. Just wrap the tape all the way around the shoe, including the velcro strap. Good news, too, electrical tape comes in more than one color, so you can probably find something that will go along with your shoes, if you were concerned with that aesthetics of having tape on your bike shoes.

Alas, that’s what I’ve decided to go with for the 12-hour–just the tape this time. I’ll let you know how that goes over.

I have more blog to write, but I’m going to save that for another post …

4 thoughts on “Disclaimer

  1. Dodger

    umm, one season?  I had a pair of nikes that I used for about 2 seasons of mountain biking and one of roading.  I still have them. 
    Id be conserned about ventilation with the tape on.  Your feet might get a bit hot out there man. 
    Any way, good luck, and remember to shout my name when you finish the race.

  2. Zed

    DODGER!!!!
    Gotcha. Yeah, that\’s why I picked electrical tape instead of duct or something else–it takes up a lot less surface area. Most of my shoe ventilation is up front anyway–I don\’t think I\’ll be covering any holes. It\’s just one strip of tape going right across where the top velcro strip is–I didn\’t try to tape down the second or third velcro strips. I tried it out today, and it feels like it just might work.
    Oh, and I agree with you–I\’ve only owned one pair of clipless shoes since January \’04, and I\’m hoping I won\’t have to put the money down on any others in the near future, although SIDIs sure look cool …

  3. Tim D

    This makes an aweful lot more sense when you don\’t read velcro bike shoes as velcro bike shorts.  SOunds a lot less painful too.
     
    Electrical tape is the answer. 
     
    I have a pair of Specialized shoes with laces and velcro.  I took the laces out prior to doing a triathlon a few years ago, and have never put them back.  Velcro still works fine and the shoes get used 3-5 times a week.
     
    Tim

  4. Unknown

    Keep your velcro clean, pull all the loose bits out occasionally ect..
    Funny how expensive this sport is the more you do it. Bikes, pedals, shoes, clothing, tires, nutrition, ect…
    Speed costs money, son, how fast do you want to go ?? Or how long, in this case.

Leave a Reply

